Main Menu

Delaware Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

Articles & Publications

May 14, 2018

Each year, there are tens of thousands of auto accidents reported in the state of Delaware. In addition to the loss of lives, such car and truck crashes also have a high economic cost. According to the Delaware State Police Annual Traffic Statistical Report for 2016, the 26,453 motor vehicle accidents that occurred that injured more than 8,500 people, killed 120 people, and resulted in economic losses of more than $669 million.

What Are the Car Insurance Requirements in Delaware?

Delaware requires all motorists to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance to cover losses incurred by others in an accident in which they were at fault. In 2017, the state updated its minimum bodily injury liability insurance requirements for the first time since 1983, increasing mandatory minimums from $15,000 in bodily injury coverage per person—a total maximum of $30,000 per accident—and $10,000 in property damage coverage to:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
  • $50,000 maximum bodily injury liability coverage per accident
  • $10,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident

Liability coverage protects others against damages the policyholder causes. Delaware also requires motorists to carry no-fault insurance coverage, also known as Personal Injury Protection or PIP, that pays the policyholder's medical expenses, lost wages, and funeral benefits in the event of a fatality, regardless of who was at fault for the accident. Minimum PIP insurance requirements in Delaware are $15,000 per person and $30,000 total per accident.

Motorists who fail to carry the required insurance coverages face a fine of $1,500 for a first-time violation, a $3,000 fine for subsequent offenses, and a six-month suspension of driving privileges.

Optional policy add-ons, such as Uninsured Motorist (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) coverages can protect drivers who are injured or incur other losses in an accident with a motorist who lacks insurance or whose coverage limits are insufficient for the damages sustained.

Were You Injured in an Accident?

If you were injured in an accident that wasn't your fault, you may be entitled to compensation. The knowledgeable auto accident attorneys with the Morris James Personal Injury Group can help you file an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit to seek compensation for damages. Contact the Morris James Personal Injury Group today to schedule an appointment for a free initial case consultation.

Related Links:


Practice Areas

Back to Page